What Does It Even Mean to Be a Mom Gamer?
What does it even mean to be a mom gamer? I am one, and I still don’t fully know.
I know what it looks like from the outside. It looks like playing after bedtime. It looks like picking up your Switch at 10pm when you’re already exhausted, because this is the only window you’ve got. It looks like falling asleep mid-cutscene. It looks like buying a game you’re excited about and then not touching it for three months because life just kept happening.
There’s this guilt that comes with gaming as a mom. I don’t hear dads talk about it the same way. When I sit down to play, there’s a voice that goes: shouldn’t you be doing something more productive? Shouldn’t you be prepping tomorrow’s lunch? Shouldn’t you be resting so you have more energy for your kid?
I bought the Nintendo Switch 2 on launch day and spent half the day feeling bad about it. I’d saved the money months in advance. I was between jobs. And still, the guilt showed up like clockwork. Do you deserve this? Is this selfish?
Because joy feels like something you have to earn once you become a parent. Having something that’s just for you feels indulgent.
But it’s not indulgent. It’s necessary. I genuinely believe that…for others. I still have trouble believing and adopting it for myself. But it’s getting better slowly but surely.
I used to game for hours. Long, lazy afternoons with an RPG. Entire weekends lost in a world. Now I game in stolen moments. Thirty minutes after Elio goes to bed. Sometimes twenty. Sometimes I pick up my Switch, realize I’m too tired to even process what’s on screen, and put it back down.
I can’t do open-ended sandboxes the way I used to — I need closed loops. I need a game that lets me feel like I accomplished something in a short session. I need natural stopping points. Dragon Quest gives me that. Pokopia doesn’t. It’s not that one is better than the other. It’s that my life has a different shape now, and the games that fit have changed.
I’ve got 140+ games in my backlog. I built a whole app to manage it. And still, sometimes the backlog feels less like a list of possibilities and more like a list of things I’m failing to get to.
Before I was a mom, I was just a person who played games. Nobody called me a “gamer girl” or a “female gamer” or whatever — I was just… someone who games. Now there’s this extra label. Mom gamer. And I don’t fully know what to do with it.
Part of me resists it. I’m not just a mom who happens to game. Gaming is genuinely part of who I am. My Switch has been with me through miscarriages, cross-continental moves, career changes, the birth of my son. It was literally in my hospital bag. It’s not a hobby I squeeze in around motherhood — it’s a thread that runs through all of it.
But another part of me leans into it. Because being a mom has changed how I play. I track my games alongside my menstrual cycle now. I notice that my energy for different genres shifts with my inner seasons. I’ve started thinking about gameplay loops in terms of how they fit around bedtime routines and nap schedules. I DNF games without guilt because my time is too precious to spend on something that isn’t working.
That’s not despite being a mom. That’s because of it.
I’m writing this because I don’t see a lot of moms talking about this stuff. I know mom gamers exist (i know you’re out there!). I know some women in the industry are moms. But it doesn’t seem to affect them the way it affects me — or if it does, they’re not talking about it publicly. The guilt, the exhaustion, the identity shift, the way your taste in games changes when your time stops being your own.
I want to talk about it. I want to find the other moms who are gaming after bedtime, feeling guilty about screen time (theirs, not their kid’s), keeping a notebook to organize their in-game storage because their real life is already chaotic enough.
There’s a community here that hasn’t quite found each other yet.
I don’t have this fully figured out. But I’m writing about it because I think the conversation matters.
None of the moms I know game. I feel silly picking Elio up from school when nobody wants to talk about anything except mom stuff. If you’re out there, please don’t be shy. I’m trying not to be either.